top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlya

Show Off

An early start to the morning saw myself and Rein having a showing lesson at 8:00am by the wonderful Lord Stephen Wollands - LSW is a fantastic rider with multiple sashes and rosettes under his belt, Stephen has competed at HOYS and pulled in third in a large Mountain and Moorland class, Stephen also won the Mountain and Moorland class at The Royal Welsh on his Welsh section d bay gelding Del Boy.


I was very excited for him to iron out some issues we were having, myself and Rein have been having issues trying to get the correct leg in canter when riding to the right, I seemed to have tried everything I know I would eventually get it correctly but it was difficult and heavy.


LSW came into the school by this time Rein was all warmed up and the heavens opened *yay* the first thing LSW asked was what our issues were so he knew what to work on, we then went into a trot around the school so he could see how I ride he then stopped me after my first go round... I was thinking oh dear what have I done... LSW went on to say that my strirrups were to short for my leg length due to my saddle being such a straight cut my knees were over the knee tole and from the side this did not look correct, we went down one hole 1 HOLE IT FELT LIKE 5 I then popped back into trot wow this was odd I could feel the back of my thighs and my gluts really burning, after a few goes round getting used to the length I then tried a canter on by good side she went beautiful as expected here comes now try the other way but rather than asking this he told me some tricks to get her correct before we even bothered.


We did half circles with her facing to the right but her body going to the left almost a half pass, as soon as she was back on the track we asked for a canter because there was already a natural bend from this exercise it should force her forward onto the correct leg the first time round was riders error not enough leg to push her into the bend came back for a second try wow the impulsion was amazing she flew into the canter straight onto the right leg, we did the same exercise but going the other way; I genuinely felt like I was on a different horse she was so limber and curved into the canter.


we finished on a positive note and cooled down I was out of breath and was super hot it was an intense lesson but I enjoyed every minute.


Watch this space LSW will be back :)



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Obsessions

There are no items in this list

Please reload

bottom of page