top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlya

Whiter Than White

Helping you release the white horse potential you have under all that muck and grime is what we do best, as Rein is such a white horse keeping her clean is a major priority for me this is so that when we go out competing the day before we are not spending hours bathing and prepping.


Previously when we first started competing I would leave Rein to her own devices no rugs no baths until the day before the show, I then struggled trying to wash out pee and poo stains I tried everything from purple shampoo to ketchup nothing worked the stains were so ingrained that the only way to remove them would be to clip it out and start again, so I promised myself I would NEVER get into that position again, Rein had a clip at the end of the season and i then kept her rugged and plaited.


To keep Rein cleaned is no longer a chore, to keep her clean I have my go to items here is how I keep her clean and show ready.


The Tail - Reins tail is always in a loose plait with a tail bag on, now this bag if it gets caught will come off and will in turn release the plait her tail is wash once every 2/3 weeks but only at the ends and is washed with warm water, I use PRO-VOKE touch of silver shampoo and leave it on for around 1-2 minutes then wash and repeat if necessary - now if your horses tail is very yellow at the bottom you can apply the shampoo on the ends onto dry hair, ideally no more than 3-4 minutes for very yellow tails any longer and the horses tail will go purple (this has happened to myself) after the rinse use the PRO-VOKE conditioner brush through and wash out, I use a leave formula on her tail to keep it soft depending on the weather if it is a cold day I use Palmer's coconut spray leave in conditioner if it is warm I use the solid coconut oil (can be purchased at any large supermarket I got it at Tesco £3) as it is a solid you will have to either put it into hot water to liquidise or leave the bottle in the sunshine I don't use this if its a cold day as it will solidify on the tail and go lumpy, I then brush through and leave to dry naturally before putting on a tail bag.




The Body - Rein does get hot clothed if she has a large stain on her body I use a lovely fibre cloth, warm water with coconut oil in and wipe away, if its too cold I use my Eqclusive HAAS brushes the Schimmel brush is the best for this as the coconut hairs pull up the dirt and grime and brush it away. Rein only gets a full bath if she has a show or if it is a nice sunny day I do not want to remove any of her natural oils in her coat. A full bath consists of a large bucket of warm water to loosen up any bits of mud or grime then a quick hose down for the full body, on her coat I have only ever used blue Fairy Liquid its cheap and has been the best way to remove a stain, I use a soft brush and brush the liquid into her coat and her hogged mane she is then hosed down again I then sweat scrape the excess water away leave her body to dry natural but go around her hocks with a towel so no water gets caught, once she is dry I will spray a little bit of supreme products deluxe coat gloss then I go over her coat with the diva brush by Eqclusive this brings out her coat to a lovely shine.





20 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Show Off

My Obsessions

There are no items in this list

Please reload

bottom of page